Double Anna Dress

Friends, family, strangers on the internet, I’m doing it, I’m finally doing it. And by it I mean blogging. I have been meaning to start blogging my creations partially as a way to keep track of what I’m doing and partially to share them with the world. To begin I thought I would share my first Anna Dress by the lovely ladies of By Hand London. I finished this gem back in November of last year and I have to say I love it! It is swishy and perfect.

Double Anna Dress
I’m calling this my Double Anna Dress since both the pattern and the fabric are Annas!

I cut a straight 12US/16UK and is a smidgen loose in the midsection, but is perfect for moving around in and eating a big meal, in other words living life! The fabric is Anna Maria Horner’s Field Study Cyprus in Rayon Challis, which had been sitting in my stash for just about a year waiting for the right pattern. Initially I was a little worried about attempting to match the pattern, especially in the skirt, but I’m so glad I did! It was my first ever attempt at matching a pattern so it isn’t perfect, but I love it regardless. To give the dress a bit more structure I decided to fully line the dress using some Rayon Bemberg that I picked up at Joann’s. Looking back I really should have french seamed the whole dress for a cleaner finish, but since I had just gotten a serger and was itching to use it I went that route instead.

Double Anna Dress

I went with the invisible zipper that the pattern calls which only took me three tries to get in! Looking at the photos I really should go back and steam that zipper in better. For the hem I did a narrow rolled hem. Off hand I cannot remember if I cut the length down at all but I’m thinking I left it the standard length of the midi skirt length. Since this I have started actually taking notes while I am sewing, which should come in handy in my upcoming posts.

Double Anne Dress
(I promise the center back is straight! I’m just standing at a slight angle.)

All in all, I love this dress! So far I have only worn it on one occasion, but that is mostly because it is mid-winter here in Wisconsin and it is not really a light weight dress season here at the moment, but as soon as it warms up I will be putting this into frequent rotation.

Double Anna Dress

To end I thought I would leave you with this fantastic photo that captured me catching myself mid fall after attempting to take a picture of myself spinning.

xoxo Jeanne

Double Anna Dress

Leave a Reply

